2019 Pembrokeshire Harriers Presentation Awards

November 2nd was a wet and windy Saturday afternoon but that didn’t deter well over 120 Pembrokeshire Harriers' officials / athletes / family and friends from attending the Annual Presentation Evening. As in previous years the event was held in the Withybush Pavilion which has proved to be a very popular choice of venue.

The gathered crowd were entertained with a Powerpoint presentation, a few speeches, Awards aplenty and tables of food. The Club’s GB athlete James Tomlinson was in attendance much to the delight of the younger athletes who had photos taken with the gentle giant. The Club’s other GB athlete, Heather Lewis unfortunately, couldn’t attend due to work commitments.

The athletes were presented their awards by Club President, Pete Freeman ; Club Secretary, Liz Rowland ; Team Managers, Jo Salmon and Kelly Griffiths and Club Chairman, Nigel Rowland.

As each athlete came forward to accept their award they were greeted with enthusiastic applause which typified the team spirit shown by athletes and supporters during each competition throughout the year.

There were many Club Records Broken Throughout the year and each athlete was presented with a Certificate.

Rachel Matthews gave an impassioned speech about her son Sulien in whose memory an Award is presented each year. This award is given to an athlete who has worked hard and has shown great improvement over the year. This year the award was presented to Gracie Griffiths who has successfully changed her event to the 1K/3K Walk.


2019 Award Winners….

Under 11 Boy : Niall Smith

Under 11 Boy Team Player : Ollie Thompson

Under 11 Girl : Ophelia Jenkins

Under 11 Girl Team Player : Imogen Gray

Under 13 Boy : William Harries

Under 13 Boy Team Player : Toby Price

Under 13 Girl : Maddy James

Under 13 Girl Team Player : Emily Hosker

Under 15 Boy : Liam Topp

Under 15 Boy Team Player : Max Morgan

Under15 Girl : Ella Wintle

Under 15 Girl Team Player : Amy Evans

Under 17 Boy : Tyree Thompson

Under 17 Girl : Kasia Cook

Under 20 /Senior Man : James Tomlinson

Under20/Senior Woman : Chloe Butterworth

Pride of Sulien Award : Gracie Griffiths

Also, every competing athlete was awarded a medal.......