Schools, under 20 and senior cross country international at Dinefwr Park Llandeilo on Saturday 23 March 2013

Next Saturday all roads will lead to Llandeilo for the biggest international cross country event to be held in Wales for many years

Once in four years the Schools International Athletic Board (SIAB) cross country match is held in Wales and this year it will be the turn of beautiful Dinefwr Park to host the event. In 2009 it was held in Faenol Bangor


The top cross country runners from Wales, Ireland, Scotland and England will be competing at Llandeilo


There are ten races in all with the first event for primary schools at 12 noon when Dyfed primary schools athletes will be competing against West Glamorgan primary schools. 40 athletes from each of the two Districts were chosen to compete as a result of their championships held on 7 March 2013


There are four international events for SIAB secondary schools athletes and in each race there will be eight athletes from each country competing for Wales, Scotland, Ireland and England


This year eight Dyfed schools athletes will be representing Wales in the SIAB races at Llandeilo


Junior Girls


Jessica Bradley Tasker Milward

Alicia Jones Tasker Milward

Lucy Davies Dyffryn Taf

Abbie Williams Pembroke


Junior Boys


Matthew Williams Milford


Inter Girls


Caitlin Page Bro Pedr


Inter Boys


Liam Bradley Tasker Milward

Christian Lovatt Dyffryn Aman


Also there two Home Countries under 20 international matches and two international races for senior athletes






Seven Dyfed schools athletes have been chosen to compete for Wales in the under 20 match


U20 Girls


Megan Withers Tasker Milward (captain)

Lauren Bell Bro Gwaun

Kari O’Neill Tregib

Rhian Homer Bro Gwaun


Under 20 Boys


Zak Lewis Coleg Sir Gar

Ieuan Cooke Preseli

Lloyd Heckler Queen Elizabeth


The last two races on the programme are for seniors and Wales will be competing against the Northern Counties, Midland Counties, Southern Counties and the Combined Services


Competing for Wales will be Dewi Griffiths from Llanfynydd who is the current Welsh cross country champion and former Strade School pupil Alaw Beynon Thomas who has competed for Wales on many occasions. Dewi is a former pupil of Tregib School Llandeilo


Time Table of events


12 noon                Primary Girls

12.10                     Primary Boys

12.30                     SIAB Junior Girls

12.45                     SIAB Junior Boys

13.05                     SIAB Inter Girls

13.25                     SIAB Inter Boys

14.00                     Home Countries U20 Women

14.25                     Home Countries U20 Men

14.55                     Home Countries Senior Women

15.30                     Home Countries Senior Men